“Freezing” instruments due to new acoustics?

Anyone who has ever attended a concert – whether symphony or rock concert – has experienced that this is a pleasure for (almost) all our senses. For an unforgettable experience, no, you have to be able to feel, see and above all hear the music.

This is especially true for the musicians themselves, who present their art on stage. In order to be able to bring these to the fore, however, the musician must be able to hear his comrades-in-arms himself, in order to be able to time the performances correctly, to be able to adjust the volume precisely.

In the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz (Ludwigshafen) the rehearsal hall is currently being renovated. The aim is to improve the acoustics for the musicians – and of course also for the listeners – in order to make listening an experience for everyone.

The new acoustic concept not only sets the tone in terms of acoustics, but also has an effect on all other trades – especially ventilation technology. The specifications developed provide for ventilation of the rehearsal room exclusively from below.

This means that the air supply must also take place in the area of the musicians and thus of the parked instruments. For the “clean” sound of the instrument, temperature fluctuations should be kept as low as possible. If this is not the case, the first notes of the musical instrument may sometimes sound “wrong”.

In order to rule this out, the ventilation system may only be operated in a narrow temperature range, which leads to the question of whether the resulting room climate is perceived by all – musicians and spectators – as pleasant and conducive to music enjoyment.

Since the question cannot be clarified with the help of experiments, during the planning phase the test room was examined with the help of numerical flow simulation (CFD) and the ventilation concept was checked or adapted according to the results obtained. Thus, the ventilation concept can be implemented in the current reconstruction phase.

The investigations carried out show that the musical instruments do not have to “freeze” and that there is nothing to prevent the enjoyment of the music played from this side.

Beat Fehlmann, director of the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, welcomed the new acoustic concept in an interview with SWR: “I have great hopes that we will create a workplace that will make it possible to improve quality. The overall sound of the orchestra, the interplay, the precision, the fine tuning among each other. That when something doesn’t work it is exaggerated to say one’s own inadequacy and not some factor you can’t influence. The listeners can hear the orchestra as a whole better, including the individual voices. And that makes the concert experience even more lively.”

More on this topic:

Radio original soundtrack: Mittagsmagazin SWR4 Rheinland-Pfalz (Radio, MP3)
Article: SWR Aktuell

Contact: Heiko Tebben, CFD Consultants GmbH

This contact form is deactivated because you refused to accept Google reCaptcha service which is necessary to validate any messages sent by the form.

„Frierende“ Instrumente aufgrund neuer Akustik?

Jeder, der schon einmal ein Konzert – egal ob Sinfonie- oder Rockkonzert – besucht hat, hat erleben dürfen, dass dies ein Genuss für (fast) all unserer Sinne darstellt. Für ein unvergessliches Erlebnis will, nein muss man, die Musik spüren, sehen und vor allem hören können.

Im besonderen Maße gilt dies für die Musiker selbst, die auf der Bühne ihre Kunst präsentieren. Um diese zur Geltung bringen zu können, muss der Musiker aber seine Mitstreiter selbst hören können, um die Einsätze richtig timen, die Lautstärke genau dosieren zu können.

In der Deutschen Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz (Ludwigshafen) findet aktuell ein Umbau des Probesaals statt. Ziel ist es, die Akustik für die Musiker – und natürlich auch für die Zuhörer – zu verbessern, um für jeden einzelnen das Hören zu einem Erlebnis werden zu lassen.

Das neue Akustik-Konzept gibt nicht nur hinsichtlich der Akustik den Ton an, sondern wirkt sich auf alle anderen Gewerke – vor allem aber auf die Lüftungstechnik – aus. Die erarbeiteten Vorgaben sehen eine Belüftung des Probensaals ausschließlich von unten vor.

Dies bedeutet, dass die Luftzuführung auch im Bereich der Musiker und somit der abgestellten Instrumente stattfinden muss. Für den „sauberen“ Ton des Instrumentes sind Temperaturschwankungen nach Möglichkeit so gering wie möglich zu halten. Ist dies nicht der Fall – kann es dazu kommen, dass die ersten Töne des Musikinstrumentes mitunter „falsch“ klingen.

Um das ausschließen zu können, darf die Lüftungstechnik nur in einem schmalen Temperaturbereich betrieben werden, was zu der Frage führt, ob das resultierende Raumklima von allen – Musikern und Zuschauern – als angenehm und dem Musikgenuss zuträglich empfunden wird.

Da die Fragestellung nicht mit Hilfe von Versuchen geklärt werden kann, wurde während der Planungsphase mit Hilfe der numerischen Strömungssimulation (CFD) der Probesaal strömungstechnisch untersucht und das Lüftungskonzept entsprechend der erzielten Ergebnisse überprüft bzw. angepasst. Somit kann das Lüftungskonzept in der aktuellen Umbauphase umgesetzt werden.

Die durchgeführten Untersuchungen zeigen, dass die Musikinstrumente nicht „frieren“ müssen und somit von dieser Seite nichts dem Genuss der gespielten Musik entgegen spricht.

Der Intendant der Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, Beat Fehlmann, begrüßte in einem Interview mit dem SWR das neue Akustikkonzept: „Ich habe die große Hoffnung, dass wir eine Arbeitsstätte kreieren, die es ermöglicht die Qualität zu verbessern. Den Gesamtklang des Orchesters, das Zusammenspiel, die Präzision, die feine Abstimmung untereinander. Dass, wenn etwas nicht klappt ist es überspitzt gesagt die eigene Unzulänglichkeit und nicht irgendein Faktor, den man nicht beeinflussen kann. Die Zuhörer können das Orchester als Ganzes besser hören, also auch die einzelnen Stimmen. Und dadurch wird das Konzerterlebnis sicher noch ein bisschen lebendiger.“

Mehr zu diesem Thema:

O-Ton Mittagsmagazin SWR4 Rheinland-Pfalz (Hörfunk, MP3)
Artikel SWR Aktuell

Kontakt: Heiko Tebben, CFD Consultants GmbH